Writing 101- contrast through dialogue

She was clearly confused “You just want to hang out?”

“Well, yeah…. I like hanging out with you.” He stuffed his hands in his pockets and shrugged his broad shoulders.

“You know I don’t like to just ‘hang out'” She emphasized with quotes.

“What? You don’t want to just have fun and enjoy each other for a little while?”

“No! That sounds awful!”

“I don’t understand. It seemed like you were having fun.”

“I am…I was… But….”

“But what?”

“I’m not looking for a spring fling?” She looked to the ground and back up. “And this….” gesturing between the two of them.” feels like a ‘fling'”.

“That’s not all that bad.” He said moving closer.

“But, it seems so silly. So…. young.”

“We can enjoy the time we have.”

“But it already sounds like it’s short lived. That at the end of a few months we’ll be done with each other. ”

“No commitment. No worry. right?” He looked at her lips.

“Uhhh…. exactly.” Sarcasm dripped from her mouth.

“What? You think that being with me will be boring?” He smirked.

Her eyebrows shot up, bewildered. “No! That’s not it at all!” Finally a long sigh. He stepped one foot closer and wrapped his hands around her wrists. She could feel his breath on her forehead.

“Don’t you want this?” He knew he was making her crazy.

“Yes….” she closed her eyes tight. “No!” She stepped back. “I do NOT want to be just a fling.”

“Who said we were just a fling? You’d be my girlfriend.”

“What? Wait… We’re dating?” His eyes got big. She took a step forward.

“I guess that settles it then.”

Leave a Reply

