Writing 101- the things we treasure

tell the tale of your most-prized possession. If you’re up for a twist, go long — experiment with longform and push yourself to write more than usual.

 

https://i0.wp.com/www.sheyna-jewelry.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/Birthstone-For-April.jpg

They say you can know what someone treasures by looking at the pictures on their camera. Taking a look at mine you’ll find a lot of family shots and more often some shot of nature. A sunset, Green lush trees, Waterfalls.

My favorite movie asks a questions “What if your house caught on fire, what would you take.You’re supposed to read that in a English accent with some kind of Irish twist.

So what would it be?
What would you take?

I used to say my bible. And that has not changed. But there are a couple other things I’d like to take too. (like is the key word here.)
I’d Like to take on top of my most important: My bed, my phone charger, my photo albums, my computer, my pictures on the walls, All the letters that have ever meant something to me….

Maybe I should say: I’d like to take my entire house.

But that’s not what the question is really asking.

So what would I take?

My purse.

It holds: My wallet, First aid kit and the book I’m currently reading.

This also assumes that all of my family is out of the house safe. But that is if we ask the question and really want to go through all the details. Which I’ll spare myself that, and you.

Google says, Treasure means: keep carefully (a valuable or valued item). A lot of what I value has nothing do with material. I value character and maturity. Wisdom and honesty.

I physically treasure my family and my best friends.

What do YOU treasure?
Could you list it right off the top of your head? Or do you need some time to soul search? Let us know in the comments. It could give others ideas as to what we truly treasure also.

 

Leave a Reply

