Say it and mean it

https://i0.wp.com/www.thesimplylivingblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/quoteee2.jpgThe title of this blog and this quote above might not go hand in hand. But by the end of this post I hope I have made a couple things clear.

We all have a phobia of rejection. Oh, you don’t? Well then… Please sign here. I need your autograph since you have arrived somewhere I will never be.

I’ve just struggled with communicating with my boss in regards to the needs I have as an employee. If I had read this quote weeks ago it might have saved all of us some heartache!

Thanks to the two sweet girls at Simply Living I finally got a hold of these words that are so desperately important.

If communication is one of the best ways to heal, then how can we communicate effectively without the fear of rejection?

We each have feelings, thoughts and desires that we want to share without making them sound confusing or, just plain dumb.

I recently had trouble with all the routes I tried to effectively communicate. I asked for a one-on-one time with my boss. That didn’t go so well. I even wrote out what I wanted to say, but somehow the meeting didn’t go the way I had seen it play out in my head. Then they emailed me, and then here we go… The emails. The emails that have no way of communicating the way you are saying something.

So again, What is the best way to communicate in order for us to really let it heal us.

  • Be Understanding -Before you share what you need to, make sure you understand how it’s going to come across to the person who will be hearing it. Remember that if you have words that are going to hurt. Remember to be compassionate before the other person even hears it.
  • Don’t look for approval -Take a look at who you are and what you’re going to communicate. Are you ok with who YOU are? Will you be ok if the situation doesn’t go the way you planned it? If you and your friend walk away from each other still upset? Will you be insecure in who you are because they don’t like you anymore? Make sure you’re not seeking their approval.
  • Remember the Consequences -Every decision has a consequence. Good or bad. Make sure you’ve taken a good look at all the outcomes before you make your move.
  • Be 100% You. -I believe we each have a personal dream and desire in us that will sometimes bubble out of us without us even knowing. Make sure that you don’t stuff it down when it tries to come out. Let it out and be willing to share it even if you don’t think anyone will understand. You’ll feel so free!

I’ll let you know that the outcome with my boss wasn’t a pretty one. I tried to make my words pretty and compromising when I should have said what I wanted to say straight up. I wasn’t fired, but my quitting process didn’t end in a happy party. 😦 But that is alright. Not everything goes the way you have planned. And I don’t base who I am as a person on their accusations.

So, the point is: To communicate is healing! Don’t be afraid to share whats on your heart. Say it and mean it! Don’t base who you are by those who are around you. Remember your own convictions and desires

You can do it!

And for those of you who have already arrived… Please let us know how we can get there. 🙂

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Say it and mean it

  1. Chelsea I’m so glad we could share some of our inspiration with you! Although your situation with your boss may not have gone as planned, I think it’s amazing that you spoke up. I think communication is a lifelong process and we are all always learning how to do it in the most effective way possible! It means a lot to have you as a reader, looking forward to keeping up with your blog as well! 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by! I was very encouraged with your post regarding: Communication. I’m still new to this blogging scene, If you have any tips, let me know! I look up to you guys and what you are doing! 🙂

      • Seriously that is so amazing to hear, thank you! We are still relatively new to this as well, it’s all about learning as you go I suppose, but feel free to shoot us an email with any questions about anything, we would be so happy to help! 🙂

        thesimplylivingblog@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

