Did I just sign up for the that?

I am currently preparing my lesson plan for the dance classes I’ll be teaching. Whaaaat?! It just took my an hour to learn how to step from my right foot to my left foot, something they call a “ball change”. It finally registered that I agreed to teaching this class. Ummm…. I don’t know how to dance.

Did I really sign up for this? Did my voice just say yes? My heart kind of goes into panic mode as I see myself in the future looking like a complete idiot and criticized for doing something I’m clueless about. My stomach clenches.

WHAT WAS I THINKING?!

That question is a good one to ask. Usually, before you’ve actually decided. But this time I’m asking it in the middle of preparing for the decision I’ve already made. You might find that you made the wrong choice. Or you might be the one that realizes you didn’t know that what you decided would turn out so wonderful!

The point is: You’ve made the decision.

YAY YOU! Dr. Seuss says “You’re mountain is waiting so get on your way!”. Now don’t step back. Make sure you give it your all and do your best.

By stepping out of your comfort zone you have Valued Yourself. In someway or another you gave yourself permission to believe you have potential. You won an opportunity! When I think of the word no I see missed opportunities. By stepping out of your comfort zone you didn’t lose an opportunity! You won one! Not only do you get to see if you’re good at what you do, you get to see so much more of what you are capable of! You wouldn’t know if you’d never said yes. You gained experience instead of staying comfortable. Now when my future kids ask me if I know how to dance, I get to say, YES! I taught a class once!

So why did I sign up for this dance class? One,  I didn’t necessarily have a choice. Two, I wanted to try it out.

Despite my mothers scrutinizing look and my brothers look of shock I still said yes. I told the coordinator that I would be happy to try something new. Inwardly I was already vomiting. When I drove away with the curriculum in my hand that feeling didn’t go away, but I did notice my shoulders stood a little taller. I had just a little bit more strength to my step. I was proud of myself for not being a wimp. As I had been so many times before. 

I have no idea if this will be a success or a bust. I do know that soon enough, I’ll be teaching the ball change like I’ve been doing it since I came out of the womb.


Also, you should try this app. It’s free (unless you want the upgraded version which I have, and lets face it, it’s better.) It’s a mindless game that keep me from thinking of all the things I’ve agreed too. 🙂

No compensation is given to me if you download this game. I’m only sharing what I love for the benefit they might have on someone else!

 

2 thoughts on “Did I just sign up for the that?

  1. That is so exciting! I have danced my whole life, and I love it. What age group are you teaching? You will never be sorry that you stepped out of your comfort zone. Soak it all in!

    • Thanks Bethie for the vote of confidence. The kids are could be 8-18, It starts next month so I’ve yet to see who’s in my class. I am very excited! Of course, still a little nervous but I know it’s gonna be great. 🙂

Leave a Reply

